As the new year approaches, there are new laws in California that will be going into effect starting on January 1, 2024. Check out some of those new laws below:
- minimum wage increases to $16/hour
- AB 1228 - minimum wage for fast food workers will increase to $20/hour starting in April
- SB 525 - minimum wage for health care workers will increase to $23/hour by June
- AB 2188 - illegal for employer to discriminate or penalize an employee based on the person's use of cannabis off the job and away from the workplace
- SB848 - requires employers to provide 5 days of leave to an employee who suffers a reproductive loss
- AB12 - limits the amount landlords can charge for a security deposit to just one month
- SB407 - "Directs the California Department of Social Services to modify its foster parents' vetting process to ensure that LGBTQ+ youth are placed in supportive and gender-affirming homes."
- AB1909 - 6 cities (Glendale, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, San Francisco and San Jose) will install speed cameras and warning signs to let drivers know they could get a ticket if they don't slow down before they get to the speed camera
- AB899 - requires baby food manufacturers to test its products once a month for arsenic, cadmium, lead and mercury.
- SB244 - Right to Repair Act takes effect in July and requires manufacturers to provide consumers and repair shops with parts, tools and documentation needed to service or repair the device
- SB478 - starting July 1, 2024 it is required that websites and apps must display the actual cost of an item or service (NO MORE HIDDEN FEES)
- Proposition 24 - California Consumer Privacy Act "establishes standards for the collection, retention and use of personal data and allows consumers to prevent businesses from selling or sharing consumer's sensitive data"
- SB362 - California Delete Act gives "consumers more control over their personal data"
- AB607 - for the 2024-2025 this law "requires California Community Colleges and California State Universities to display the estimated cost of course materials and fees for their classes"
- AB28 - there will be an 11% tax on sales of firearms and ammunition and money from this will fund gun violence prevention and school safety programs; this law takes effect on July 1, 2024
- SB2 - limits possession of firearms in certain public places and requires stronger firearms safety training and also sets a minimum age of 21 to obtain a concealed carry permit
For a full list of new California laws, click here.