SANTA MONICA (CNS) - ``12 Years a Slave,'' ``Dallas Buyers Club'' and ``Nebraska'' won the top honors at the 29th Film Independent Spirit Awards today.

Also receiving awards were ``Blue Jasmine,'' ``Fruitvale Station,'' ``Blue is the Warmest Color,'' ``Short Term 12,'' ``This is Martin Bonner'' and ``20 Feet from Stardom.''

The ceremonies were held in the rain on a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, and were taped for broadcast at 7 p.m. Pacific on IFC.

``12 Years a Slave'' won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Female and Best Cinematography, a spokeswoman for the show announced.

``Dallas Buyers Club'' won Best Supporting Male and Best Male Lead.

``Fruitvale Station'' won Best First Feature, and ``Nebraska'' won Best First Screenplay.

``Blue Jasmine'' won Best Female Lead, and ``Short Term 12'' won Best Editing.

``This is Martin Bonner'' won the John Cassavetes Award; ``Blue is the Warmest Color'' won Best International Film and ``20 Feet from Stardom'' won Best Documentary.

Jeff Nichols' ``Mud'' got the 7th annual Robert Altman Award, given to one film's director, casting director, and ensemble cast. Casting director Francine Maisler shared the award with ensemble cast members Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant and Reese Witherspoon.

The 2014 Roger and Chaz Ebert Fellowship, with a cash grant of $10,000, was awarded to Lulu Wang. This annual award is given to a filmmaker currently participating in Film Independent's signature diversity mentorship program, Project Involve. Wang wrote and directed her first feature film ``Posthumous,'' set in Berlin, starring Jack Huston and Brit Marling.

The Bright Future Award, and a $25,000 grant from Unilever Project Sunlight, went to Patrick Creadon for his film, ``If You Build It.''






Posted by Amy King